Paris is the county seat of Lamar County - the 1875 courthouse is show above. It is in the central part of the county in the upland separating the tributaries of the Red and Sulphur rivers. The first recorded settlement in the vicinity was in 1826, and settlements were known to be in the area as early as 1824. The town was founded by merchant George W. Wright, who donated fifty acres of land in February 1844, when the community was also designated the county seat by the voters. It was incorporated by the Congress of the Republic of Texas on February 3, 1845. The community was named for Paris, France, by one of Wright's employees, Thomas Poteet
The Plaza, as the downtown square is known, has historically been the center of activity.
Destroyed much of downtown Paris. The city was resilient rebuilding much on the city over the following 2 years.
Bywaters park is located in the Historic District of Paris, and boasts a beautiful 1931 Corinthian peristyle which mimics the unique style of a Grecian temple.
Enjoy the live performances of the Paris Community Band. This municipal band is the longest performing band in Texas. Concerts are free and popcorn and soft drinks are available for purchase.
Performances are Friday evenings each summer.
The Corinthian Peristyle was designed by renowned Paris architect J.L. Wees in 1932. The site of the park and peristyle was built on the site of the Bywaters home that was destroyed in the Great Paris fire of 1916. Bywaters donated the land, and J.J. Culbertson donated the peristyle.
During the holiday season, Winter Wonderland is enjoyed by young and old alike. Bywaters Park boasts the 1931 Corinthian Peristyle while park benches and picnic tables are available. Graduates and wedding parties enjoy the perfect backdrop for their memories. Municipal band summer concerts and Movies in the Park are hosted here every year.
Constructed in 1937, The Grand Theatre was the largest theatre in Lamar County for over fifty years, and its fly-loft was the tallest west of the Mississippi. In 1980 a second screen was added to compete with the expanding cinema industry and it was renamed The Grand Twin.
The Grand Theater was opened on September 23, 1937 with Edward Arnold in “The Toast of New York”.
The goal of the Grand Theatre Project is to restore this piece of history back to its former glory and open the doors once again to the community. Find out more at restorethegrand.com